A country at three speeds: Algarve to be in state of alert from 1st of July, whilst Lisbon remains divided

69alert stateYesterday Prime Minister Costa announced the measures that are to be put in place following a Meeting of the Council of Ministers, which will shortly be published as a Decree Law.

These are subject to renewal/change at the end of their implementation period. As there are now three different levels of measures in place, to make it easier to understand, the team at Safe Communities have translated these into English in a table format.

In view of the increase in the number of infected with COVID-19 in certain municipalities in the metropolitan area of ​​Lisbon, the Government decided on special measures for 19 parishes, involving the municipalities of Amadora, Odivelas, Sintra, Loures and Lisbon. These specific parishes remain in a calamity situation; in the Metropolitan Area of ​​Lisbon, they are on the contingency status. The rest of the country moves down to the status of alert (the "softest" of those established in the Basic Civil Protection Law). The mitigation measures will take effect from 1 to 14 July.

mitigation measures

Pin It

You must be a registered user to make comments.
Please register here to post your comments.