Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *

History & Culture of Portugal - Part 10

The House of Braganza (1640-1910).Part 10. The House of Braganza (1640-1910). Most Serene House of Braganza also known as the Brigantine Dynasty is a dynasty of emperors, kings, princes, and dukes of Portuguese origin which reigned in Europe and the Americas.

The house was founded by Afonso I, 1st Duke of Braganza, illegitimate son of King John I of Portugal of the House of Aviz. Over the centuries it would produce 15 Portuguese monarchs and all 4 Brazilian monarchs. The traditional symbol  and crest of the House of Braganza is a green wyvern, commonly taken to be a bipedal dragon, arrow-tipped tail, representing Saint George, patron saint of Portugal.

When Philip II of Portugal (III of Spain) died in 1621, he was succeeded by his son Philip III (IV of Spain), who had a different approach to Portuguese issues. Taxes on the Portuguese merchants were raised, the Portuguese nobility began to lose its influence and government posts in Portugal were increasingly occupied by Spaniards. Ultimately, Philip III tried to make Portugal a Spanish province, meaning Portuguese nobles stood to lose all of their power. The Spanish Hapsburgs were overthrown in 1640 and the House of Braganza esatblished the new Portuguese royal line with the accession of Joao IV.

The Braganzas ruled Portugal and the Portuguese Empire from 1640 and with the creation of the United Kingdom of Portugal, Brazil and the Algarves, in 1815, and the subsequent independence of the Empire of Brazil, in 1822, the Braganzas came to rule as the monarchs of Brazil.

The House of Braganza Timeline

The House of Braganza (1640-1910)

Read other parts of this series HERE.

Pin It

You must be a registered user to make comments.
Please register here to post your comments.